Morrill Chapter Celebrates Centennial Anniversary!

FaceBook  Twitter

by Emily Caldwell ‘09

About 150 alumni and students of the Alpha Zeta Morrill Chapter gathered April 23, 2016 to celebrate the house's centennial anniversary. The most senior alumnus in attendance was Don Seipt, Class of 1950, creating a span of 65 years of alumni to celebrate 100 years of house history.

On May 11, 1914, the Penn State Board of Trustees granted Lot No. 13 on the campus to Alpha Zeta. The house was sufficiently completed March 24, 1916 so that brothers could move in, and a house warming celebration was held in May 1916. The total cost of the house, including furnishings, landscaping and insurance, was $28,131.82.

Alpha Zeta sisters pose for a photo at the pre-reception winery visit to Mount Nittany Winery.

The Centennial Celebration event included three pre-reception activity offerings, including a visit to Mount Nittany Winery in Centre Hall, a sporting clay shoot at Hillendale Hunting Club in Tyrone, and tours of the Penn State campus, provided by Alpha Zeta actives. Groups were also encouraged to plan their own event, and one group of recent alumni organized a day on a local golf course.

A pig roast reception was held that evening, followed by a program and the recognition of several notable alums. Mark Lowery, '09 and secretary of the Corporation Board, served as the emcee. Dan Frechen, '08, kicked off the evening and the "Presentation of the Decades" with information about the start of the chapter and construction of the house. From there, alums from each decade of the house gave some history, shared stories and provided entertainment to the crowd. Speakers included Frank Resides, '62; Eric Bengtson, '75; Jeff Harding, '81; Matt Espenshade, '95; Chris Connelly, '99; Diane Glock-Cornman, '01; Mark Lowery, '09; Shawn Beam, '11; and Dylan Beam, who serves as the current active chapter chancellor.

Following the presentation, Lowery invited Mike Flinchbaugh, '02, forward to present Art Keen, a 1968 graduate and president of the Corporation Board, with a service award. Next up was Joe Leslie, '09, to present Dan Frechen with a service award for his work in preparing the house for the Centennial event. Frechen also presented the alumni with a new donor recognition plaque that recognized both financial contributions as well as those who have donated time and services toward the betterment of Alpha Zeta.

The planning committee for the Centennial Celebration included Mark Lowery, Michael and Deidre Hess, Joe and Amy Leslie, Dan Frechen, Thad Will, Art Keen, Diane Glock-Cornman, Phil Haussener and Emily Caldwell. Students with a leadership role in the festivities included Luke Salter, Matt Hackenberg and Cara Trotter.

Alumni are encouraged to sign up for the monthly eLetter and to follow the website ( for future planned events.